Go Back   The Sportbikes Website > Brand Specific Motorcycle Topics > Pocket bikes

Closed Thread

Old 08-09-2005, 08:55 PM   #1
ehroof
Forum Newbie

pocket bike wont start

hi, i am fairly new to pocket bikes but i am not to bikes and engines in general. My friend gave me a pocket bike last week and i cant get it to start. let me start off with what i have done.
1. checked plug, has spark
2. put new gas/oil mixture
3. put starting fluid in carb, then cylinder.

The bike does not even try to start. sounds the same with the key on or off.
the battery is stone dead but i made sure it still has spark and it does, does not even try to start with starting fluid. i am trying to start the bike with the pull start.

this bike has a primer bulb on bottom of the carb, when i press the primer, the fuel returns to the tank thru the clear tube. The plug is wet when i take it out after about 20 pulls on the starter and starting fluid, i take it out, clean, check for spark, squirt in the starting fluid, put plug back in, put key on, pull the pull start and absoulutely nothing. it is turning over, just not starting. feels like it has good compression. I am going to try a new plug tomorrow, but wouldnt it start with the starting fluid even if the plug had a weak spark? The spark does look good though, just a bogus name on the plug.
any help would be appreciated.

thanks
eddie
Old 08-09-2005, 10:21 PM   #2
harkins722
Thinks they have something to say

check if you floded your engine, u do that by taking out the sparkplug and pullstarting it a copple times, also try tuning your carb, if its a 49cc it should be 2 1/2 turns out
Old 08-10-2005, 12:02 AM   #3
speed_freak
Wants a new title under name

if ur plug is wet its gettin fuel to it so it may be your plug but start in on the stand and set your idol pretty high just to see if it will kik over but it seems like youve checked everything. also specify what type of bike it is eg cag midbike etc
Old 08-10-2005, 08:14 AM   #4
ehroof